New year, new you? Perhaps but who can tell.

We had a quiet first day of the year. We were in bed before 11 as usual and then got up about the 8 the next morning which is normal. Play with R in the morning, early lunch and drove to the in-laws for early tea. The roads to theirs from us were all nearly flooded. From the previous night’s heavy downpour to all morning’s rain it made the journey slower.

No, I did not write any resolutions. It is not a practice and I always change my mind so it is useless. Before Christmas I told myself to try to lose two inches on my waistline and probably snack less. That might do for the time being. I might do more writing and reading activities with R as soon as we come back from our holiday which will start soon.

Before the new year I had a two hour driving lesson which was disheartening. For all the faults that could be made I did them all, from not checking my mirrors all the time, slowing down too much before the roundabouts or going to first gear instead of staying on second jolted the car, stalled the car, needed lots of help to parallel park and swerving. It was torrential rain from start to finish of the lesson. I have driven in fog, gusty weather, heavy rain, deafening arguments and lots more of blow my head off reasons to not be here anymore what else can I say.

These things might just be things of the past soon. My only wish is that R is not in the car every time there is a melt down or yelling.

As for R, she plays with her Octonauts day in day out. She happily shouts out Barnacles or Kwazii’s lines which is sweet. She entertains herself more now which is helpful and she exercises creativity this way. I ask her to color or help me in the kitchen which she still does while talking. She narrates whatever is in her mind. She speaks like daddy most of the time. Yesterday at lunch she chewed on a piece of bone which I obviously missed, she said “I didn’t realize I was chewing a bone” then put it gently on the side of her plate. Tonight after having a bath and supper she decided to play. R packed her suitcase, looked for her bag, found the binoculars and a bag full of gloves and declared that she was going on a holiday. She walked from the sitting room to the kitchen then to and fro to invite us to go on holiday with her. After a while she put on her swimsuit, swam on dry land and slept. After having a rest she found a ladle from under a chair looked for her soft ball and played cricket with daddy. Daddy then got tired because he moved furniture for future tiling in the kitchen. She was tired enough to go upstairs and get ready for bed.

Pre-bedtime we clean her teeth with chosen toothbrush then I read books and finally snooze. Tonight and last night we convinced her to have daddy read her books which gives me time to close my eyes for minutes.

More heart wrenching driving lessons before the fourteenth and more rainy days then time to go to Bangkok for a short break from this new place.

Leave a Reply

